top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Beverly Arts

LABA Attends the 76th Annual Directors Guild of America (DGA) Awards

Updated: Feb 12

Actress/producer Rachel Liu Yue, director/filmmaker, Harrison Engle, TV host/founder of Los Angeles Beverly Arts (LABA), Joey Zhou, DGA awarding-director Daniel Kwan (co-director of "Everything Everywhere All at Once") with gift from LABA Blue-chip artist Jiannan Huang, director Maria Meimei Yue, and assistants to Joey Zhou, Maxwell Gobbell and Nicolette Anqi Xiang

Beverly Hills, California, USA. 10th February, 2024. The 76th Annual Directors Guild of America (DGA) Awards were held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills, California. The DGA awards honor the outstanding achievement of directors in television, documentaries, and commercials. The Lifetime Achievement Award and other awards are given to those who have made significant contributions during their careers.

Members of the Los Angeles Beverly Arts (LABA) and their guests joined to celebrate the awards and present Daniel Kwan, who won last year for Everything Everywhere All at Once, a gift from LABA Blue-chip artist Jiannan Huang. Huang is one of the world's finest artists, specializing in Western oil painting and Chinese ink. TV host Joey Zhou, founder of LABA, attended the ceremony as a guest of Harrison Engle, a DGA member who has directed and produced over 80 films and TV shows, and won many awards. Engle is also a LABA Board member and co-chairman of the LABA Biennial International Art Festival.

Director/filmmaker, Harrison Engle, TV host/founder of LABA, Joey Zhou, and assistant to Joey Zhou, Maxwell Gobbell

The highlight of the night was Christopher Nolan winning the DGA Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film for Oppenheimer. David Nutter, known for the Game of Thrones, and a multitude of successful television shows, was honored with the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award for Television Direction. Other top winners included:

First-Time Feature Film

Past Lives - Celine Song

Documentary Film

20 Days in Mariupol - Mstyslav Chernov

Television Drama Series

The Last of Us - Peter Hoar (for the episode “Long, Long Time”)

Television Comedy Series

The Bear - Christopher Storer (“Fishes”)

Television Movies and Limited Series

Lessons in Chemistry - Sarah Adina Smith (“Her and Him”)


Saturday Night Live - Michael Mancini and Liz Patrick

For a complete list of the DGA Awards winners, click here.

TV host Joey Zhou with DGA host Judd Apatow

Judd Apatow, was the host of the ceremony with an audience of over 1,100 attendees.  Apatow has directed, produced, and written many comedy films and TV shows including The 40-Year Old Virgin, Knocked Up, Freaks and Geeks, and Undeclared. The presenters included (in alphabetical order): Matt Bomer, Rose Byrne, Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Zooey Deschanel, David Duchovny, Jay Ellis, Carla Gallo, Ilana Glazer, Ryan Gosling, Taylor Hackford, Jonah Hill, Patty Jenkins, Rashida Jones, Daniel Kwan, Eva Longoria, Cillian Murphy, Nasim Pedrad, Mark Ruffalo, Rachel Sennott, Daniel Scheinert, Emma Stone, Glenn Weiss, and Jeffrey Wright.

TV host Joey Zhou and actor David Duchovny who was a presenter at the awards ceremony

TV host Joey Zhou and director Martin Scorsese who was nominated for an award

Harrison Engle and Rachel Liu Yue

Harrison Engle, Maria Meimei Yue, and Maxwell Gobbell

Nicolette Anqi Xiang, Harrison Engle, Maria Meimei Yue, Joey Zhou, Rachel Liu Yue, Maxwell Gobbell, and Betty Xie

TV host Joey Zhou

The Beverly Arts News is sponsored by The Beverly Arts Foundation



bottom of page